What is a menstrual cup ?

The menstrual cup is a vegetable and/or medical silicone container with round edges that collects menstrual fluid. It is a flexible object that fits into the vagina and can be worn for several hours without feeling any discomfort: a menstrual cup can contain a large amount of fluid (between 10 and 30 ml depending on brand and size). The object does not absorb the fluid but collects it, so it must be emptied in a toilet (or in the shower). There are usually two sizes available, one intended for people who have had children and one for people who haven’t.

It’s practical and good for your health !

You can wear your menstrual cup for several hours without feeling any discomfort because it can contain more fluid than any “super-absorbent” tampon. The menstrual cup does not contain any chemical product or perfume; it avoids vaginal dryness and, most importantly, the toxic choc syndrome caused by some toxins which can be found in tampons. It is important to remember to boil the menstrual cup between every cycle (5 to 10 minutes) to sterilize it.

It’s good for the environment and good for the wallet!

The cup doesn’t produce any waste and can be kept for several years because it is reusable! Unlike tampons, the menstrual cup is made from a neutral material, respectful of the environment and the bodies that use it.

Where can I buy one?

You can buy a menstrual cup at any drugstore, in organic shops or on the internet! The average price is 30 euros.

Qu’est ce qu’une coupe menstruelle ?

La coupe menstruelle est un récipient en silicone végétale et/ou médicale aux bords arrondis qui permet de récupérer le sang des menstruations. C’est un objet souple qui s’insère dans la vagin et que l’on peut porter plusieurs heures sans être gêné.e : une coupe menstruelle peut contenir une quantité importante de fluides (entre 10 et 30 ml selon la marque et la taille). L’objet n’absorbe pas le fluide mais le récupère ; il faut donc vider le récipient dans des toilettes (ou dans la douche). Il existe en générale deux tailles, une pour les personnes ayant des enfants et une pour celles n’en ayant pas eu.

C’est pratique et bon pour ta santé !

On peut porter l’objet plusieurs heures sans  problèmes car il contient plus de fluides qu’un tampon « super absorbant ». Par ailleurs, la coupe menstruelle est un objet sans produit chimique et sans parfum, il évite les problèmes de sécheresse vaginale mais aussi, le syndrome du choc toxique provoqué par certaines toxines présentes dans les tampons. Il est important de faire bouillir la coupe menstruelle entre chaque règle (5 à 10 minutes) pour la stériliser.

C’est écologique et économique !

Elle ne produit aucun déchet et peut se garder plusieurs années car elle est réutilisable! Contrairement aux tampons, la coupe menstruelle est faite en un matériau neutre respectueuse de l’environnement et des corps qui la portent.

Où en trouver ?

Tu peux acheter une coupe menstruelle en pharmacie, dans les magasins biologiques ou sur internet ! Son prix moyen est de 30 euros.